Recurring Nightmare

I drift and turn and toss and sleep
I’ve trouble when it comes to wait
I enter to it eventually
I see your familiar face
I’ve imagined your existence
So much it is almost real
Sometimes the only thing we feel
stretches from what is unreal

I reach if only
to prove you’re there.
Every time you’re within reach.
But it’s always a waking dream.

It’s always a waking dream.

Though I know you’ll always be
What I can never find
This immaterial world I’m in
Makes believe my doubting mind
I set aside rationalities
and a comfort takes its place
I write you poems in quill and ink
that transcend thought and space

I reach if only
to prove you’re there.
Every time you’re within reach.
But it’s always a waking dream.

It’s always a waking dream.

All I see in my practiced sleep
Are canvases to tread
We sit on docks taking photographs
Though they’re taken in my head
Perfection is something rarely achieved
Though its never stopped my brain
So imagine candles as scenery
and a passion drenched in rain

I reach if only
to prove you’re there.
Every time you’re within reach.
But its always a waking dream.

It’s always a waking dream.

This realm I enter when in I turn
Has room for you and me
Romantics are not to be replaced
With semantics so indiscreet
A better place where foul turns fair
And we can finally start
I know you’re a figment I created
but you’re still a work of art

I reach if only
to prove you’re there.
Every time you’re within reach.
But its always a waking dream.

It’s always a waking dream.

1 Response to “Recurring Nightmare”


  1. 1 Saran Ekambaram December 11, 2009 at 6:41 am

    Written Monday, November 23, 2009


Leave a Reply

