Watered downtown

I’m trying reading
as a cure for insomnia
I barely get a page
before it hits me
like a burlap sack of marbles
or tongue wet with dry humour
Salted oiled pretzels
I see things clearly
between dream and sleep
Amazed in a haze
that I’ve had this dream
and tried it out
and am tuckered out
but with occupied mind
I slink awake, yet not quite
and coil asleep but not really
Hissing art from forked tongue
Now greased and bright
But there are some things
that cannot be worded
Some dreams
that can’t be made
and much sleep
I’ll never get
awake in dreaming
I wonder if my insomnia
Is shared by you.

Leave a Reply

