Aqualung

Blackened lungs
Burnt from the flames I was breathing
Up in smoke
The mist that your words are creating
Charred and cracked
I’m finding it harder and harder to breathe
And I believe
This feeling may not pass

How my tongue
Is dry in this stifling atmosphere
What a joke
To drink in this sweltering summer fear
A heart attack
Would require I had a heart to begin
Now breathing in’s
A talent that I lack

Aqualung
I’m flooding myself in vain attempt
I only stoke
The bonfire present within my chest
Smokestack
The embers are out and the coal is what remains
And is my bane
Always painted black

Leave a Reply

