The Edge of the Universe

If I could afford a cosmic taxi
I would trip across this galaxy.
Chasing the tails of comets
And seeing where they may lead.

Because we all long to go away.
That longing to get lost.
Some of us just go farther
Than most ever hope to dare.

As I pass pink twin pulsars
And forget our drole yellow star
I feel my heart syncopate
With each interval’s blip

I suddenly feel propelled
As if overcome by a spell
The galaxy seems to shrink
As I expand my horizon

I spiral without a care
As my cabbie increases the fare
The Milky Way turns to yoghurt
As I further myself from it.

We pass the center and nod
To an eternal and absent god
Here in the middle of things
I feel I’ve found my other half

I tell my cabbie to continue
We have not quite reached our venue
To look for the edge of the universe
Where the seas are sweet with nothing

So as we near the end of all things
He says: “’tis as far as I go”
I pay my dues, and take a breath
And step foot into the unknown.

Because we all long to go away.
That longing to get lost.
Some of us just go farther
Than most ever hope to dare.

Leave a Reply

