Creak

There’s a gentle creak, as I twist the
knob on the door in front of
me, and I step foot into what
appears to be a hallway of
sorts. Looking left and looking
right, I can see no end to this
corridor. In perfect order are an
equally infinite number of
creaky doors. I choose one at
will. A creak is given. But
history repeats itself, and
I am in another corridor, though
this one is slightly more
overwhelming than the
one before. More doors. I
choose one at random. Then
another. Another. Another. The
feeling of accomplishment has
ceased to amaze, and there is
no end in sight. I go back the way
I came. I read a book instead.

Leave a Reply

