Churchill

I think Winston Churchill may be my favourite brigand (side note – I am sick of spell checks thinking words like favourite and colour are spelled wrong because I keep the “u” – anyway).

Churchill, a man of many sayings, but I what I like most about him is how much his sayings differ. He can go from making the best retorts to insults, to insulting humanity himself, to giving hopeful sage advice to the hinging survival of our race in times of war. Aside from me obviously identifying with his cynical nature and his keen observations on the futility of politics, I think what draws me most to this man of history is his obvious wish that the world would change. Even going so far as to trying to be a part of that change, no matter how pointless. He was a man too smart for his own good in many ways, but he never let that get in the way of his confidence.

Anyway, if you are completely lost and wondering why you are reading this, here are some of my favourite quotes of his:

“If you are going through hell, keep going.”

“If we open a quarrel between past and present, we shall find that we have lost the future. ”

“I may be drunk, Miss, but in the morning I will be sober and you will still be ugly. ”

“I never worry about action, but only inaction. ”

“A fanatic is one who can’t change his mind and won’t change the subject. ”

“A prisoner of war is a man who tries to kill you and fails, and then asks you not to kill him. ”

“It is a good thing for an uneducated man to read books of quotations. ”

“The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter. ”

That is only the tip of the Churchill iceberg. If you want more quotes check out http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/w/winston_churchill.html

Now you see why I love the guy. Or you don’t and think less of me hah.

5 thoughts on “Churchill

  1. I’ve always liked that insult about the woman being ugly. It’s so incredibly petty, but its cleverness more than makes up for it.

  2. http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/06/16/thursday-poets-rally-week-23-june-17-23-2010/

    I invite you to join our weekly Thursday Poets Rally,
    As a fresh or first time participant,
    what you do is to comment under my post with a poem link,
    let me know,
    comment 18 poets from the perfect poet award winner list under the participants list on top…
    then let me know and done….

    poetry awards will be assigned based on your comments and poem contribution…

    Happy Thursday!
    BEST!
    😉

Leave a Reply

