Snow Day

It’s often hard to do the right thing
We can be so fragile when surviving
Never looking up from our keyboards
Except to ignore shaking hands

Life takes the courage we often lack
In our fetal and childlike states
Aching and shaking from the hard stuff
Beautiful terror in vulnerability

Often forgetful, I can wallow in filth
Pigging out on it, a comfortable pain
Turning my head, seeing your fortitude
I have to change, I just have to now

I can be better often enough if I try
There are no guarantees. Only opportunities.
With childlike wonder I drop my ego
Taking your hand to play in the snow

Leave a Reply

