Ayurveda Day 49: The Chakras pt. 3 – Highest Healing Practices

The chakras are an amazing and interesting topic. These centres of energy in our subtle body (the mind body) can become imbalanced just as our physical body can. Each chakra has it’s own unique role and healing practices.

But before we dive right into healing the chakras, it’s important we understand what those imbalances look like in each one.

The first 4 chakras all become imbalanced when we have excessive pranic energy flowing through them (chakras can have deficient flow as well, but this typically manifests as an opposite chakra having too much flow). We correct these excessive imbalances via using the opposite elements.

Root Chakra (Muladhara)
Too much of the earth element can lead to being too stable, meaning immobility, lack of growth, slow and resistant to change.
Sacral Chakra (Svadhistana)
Too much of the water element leads to too much cohesion. You become stuck, stagnant, attached. Remember water isn’t the element that moves – air is. Water cannot move independently and when left alone will stagnate.
Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)
Too much of the fire element leads to excessive transformation. Everything looks like a problem that needs fixing.
Heart Chakra (Anahata)
Too much of the air element leads to excessive movement in life. Too much movement and change agitates us and makes us rajasic.

The last three chakras all relate to the ether element. Ether holds the space for all other elements, and as such, is responsible for our connectedness.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)
Imbalance of the ether element here leads to a disconnect between our expression and our identity. We cannot speak or express the mind accurately for fear of receiving disapproval or rejection. We project the self that we feel others will acknowledge, suppressing who we are.
Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)
Imbalance of this ether element (astral ether) can cause a disconnect in body and mind. We can’t stay in the present moment because we either dwell on the past or fantasize/worry about the future.
Crown Chakra (Sahasra Padma)
Imbalance of this ether element (causal ether) causes a disconnect with our highest self. Our true nature is obscured and we question who we are and don’t know why we are here.

If you resonated with any of these descriptions, chances are you have an imbalance in those chakras. As with anything, it is important to consult a CAS. However, on a basic level, everyone can practice simple things to support their chakric healing. Each chakra has a balanced state and a highest practice of healing:

Root Chakra (Muladhara) – When healthy we are stable, but not immobile. It’s highest healing practice is to form a balanced connection with nature. Nature is grounding because it’s truths don’t change. This is why we can’t use other people in order to feel stable – they will inevitably change their truths based on their egos.
Sacral Chakra (Svadhistana) – We will have a healthy flow of emotions without overflowing or attachment. It’s highest healing practice is to have harmonious use of the senses (take in proper stimulus).
Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) – When healthy we will only fix what needs fixing. We have the ability to discern and assess. It’s highest healing practice is to have harmonious routines (habits).
Heart Chakra (Anahata) – When healthy we don’t need to move but are able to, and land properly. It’s highest healing practice is harmonious and fluid day to day motions (moving and acting deliberately with grace and intention).
Throat Chakra (Vishuddha) – When healthy we have an authentic expression of our self. It’s highest healing practice is to have harmonious thoughts, words, and actions (harmonious expressions).
Third Eye Chakra (Ajna) – When healthy we have a good connection between our mind and body. It’s highest healing practice is self observation and reflection.
Crown Chakra (Sahasra Padma) – When healthy we have harmonious connection between all three of our bodies. It’s highest form of healing? Meditation.

If you practice these highest healing practices, barring any other anomalies, your chakras can all be healthy, and in turn, so will your mind and emotions. You’ll notice all the healing practices for the chakras are about your lifestyle.

Ayurveda has and always will be a science of personal responsibility. Think of these highest healing practices as mission statements for yourself – by living in alignment with them, you will move closer to a more harmonious life.

With gratitude,



One thought on “Ayurveda Day 49: The Chakras pt. 3 – Highest Healing Practices

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s