Landed Immigrant

Last time I swam I nearly drowned

The ocean that once rocked me gently

Swaying and lulling me

Gradually became a maelstrom

Like a frog in heating water, not noticing the boil

 

I survived, but the one I came in on did not

My ship is now resting fathoms deep

Merely flotsam and jetsam, to be forgot

Spewed up onto the shore I rest

But a longing to swim murmurs me

 

I am too afraid, too cowardly, too triggered

Flashes of the water rising to my neck

I can only handle dipping a toe in here

A finger in there, at most an ankle maybe

Just to see if it’s safe to even try

 

Oh how foolish of me to believe to be ready

The waters that devastated me made things clear

Now I see all the possibilities and all the problems

But I can’t navigate it! What a woe to behold

To see the right way but continue to get lost

 

Now I drown from even being knee deep

How can I ever take the plunge again?

To be wild, carefree, genuine and bewildered

Feeling hope has proven too unstable

Best to stay dry, though I don’t believe it

 

1 Response to “Landed Immigrant”


  1. 1 Ilam July 28, 2016 at 7:21 am

    The imagery in your poems are beautiful.


Leave a Reply

